Governance – Council and Executive

The Council is the supreme decision making forum of  the Law Society of Tasmania.  It is assisted in its deliberations by a number of Committees comprised of Council and Society members.

The Council:

  • Makes decisions about policies affecting the profession.
  • Makes representations or comments on policy or legislation to Government and other organisations.
  • Approves submissions or comments made on behalf of the Society.

The Council meets regularly to consider matters of policy.

There are 16 members of the Council which must include:-

  • Five Northern practitioners
  • Three North-Western practitioners
  • Eight Southern practitioners

Office bearers are: President, Vice President, Treasurer and members of the Executive Committee.

Council elections

Council members are elected by a vote of the entire regional membership and do not represent any particular category.

  • Elections for council are held each year in October.
  • Members are elected for a two-year term.
  • The Vice-President usually becomes President unless he or she does not wish to take up the position or the Council determines otherwise.

The President and the Vice President are elected after the annual general meeting. Elections for the Treasurer and other Executive members are held at a council meeting following the annual general meeting. These are all a one-year term commencing October.

2019/2020 Council Members

​​

Crystal Garwood*
President

Doolan and Brothers
1st Floor, 31 Stewart Street, Devonport, 7310
Tel: (03) 6424 7588  Fax: (03) 6424 9201
cgarwoodlst@dblaw.com.au
Biography
Trevor McKenna*
Vice-President
Ogilvie Jennings
Level 4, 39 Murray Street, Hobart  7000
Tel: (03) 6235 0800  Fax: (03) 6235 0888
trevor.mckenna@ogilviejennings.com.au
Biography
Simon Gates*
Treasurer
McLean McKenzie & Topfer
41 Cattley Street, Burnie, 7250
Tel: (03) 6430 1555  Fax: (03) 6431 8708
simong@mmtlaw.com.au
Ian Arendt
Barrister
336 Liverpool Street, Hobart, 7000
Tel: 0437 567 449
ian.arendt@gmail.com
Helen Bassett
Walsh Day James Mihal
18 King Edward Street, Ulverstone 7315
Tel: (03) 6425 2077  Fax: (03) 6425 5910
helenbassett@walshday.com.au
Amber Cohen
Rae & Partners
Level 3, 113 Cimitiere Street,  Launceston 7250
Tel: (03) 6337 5555  Fax: (03) 6334 1693
amber.cohen@raepartners.com.au
Rohan Foon
Douglas & Collins
9-13 George Street, Launceston 7250
Tel: (03) 6332 3400 Fax: (03) 6332 3499
rohanf@douglascollins.com.au
Biography
Robert Hegarty
Douglas & Collins
9-13 George Street, Launceston 7250
Tel: (03) 6332 3400 Fax: (03) 6332 3499
roberth@douglascollins.com.au
 webcarey higgins Carey Higgins

carey.higgins10@gmail.com
Biography
Julia Higgins
Bishops
19 Paterson Street, Launceston, 7250
Tel: (03) 6334 1667  Fax: (03) 6337 1144
juliahiggins@bishops.com.au
web_evan_hughes Evan Hughes*
Rae & Partners
Level 3, 113 Cimitiere Street,  Launceston 7250
Tel: (03) 6337 5555  Fax: (03) 6334 1693
evan.hughes@raepartners.com.au
Biography
Will Justo *
Wallace, Wilkinson & Webster
169 Liverpool Street, Hobart 7000
Tel: (03) 6234 8022  Fax: (03) 6231 1765
wjusto@wwwlawyers.com.au
Biography
  Kirsten Siejka
Ogilvie Jennings
282 Main Road, Glenorchy, 7010
Tel: 0437 334 406
kirsten.siejka@ogilviejennings.com.au
  Amanda Thompson*
Wallace Wilkinson & Webster
169 Liverpool Street, Hobart 7000
Tel: (03) 6234 8022  Fax: (03) 6231 1765
athompson@wwwlawyers.com.au
Alison Wells
Butler, McIntyre & Butler
20 Murray Street, Hobart, 7000
Tel: (03) 6222 9444 Fax: (03) 6223 6321
awells@bmbtas.com
 phillipa-willshire Philippa Willshire
Philipa Willshire
49 Davey Street, Hobart  7000
Tel: 0408 572 582
pwillshire6@bigpond.com

* Indicates membership of the Executive Committee