Governance – Council and Executive

The Council is the supreme decision making forum of  the Law Society of Tasmania.  It is assisted in its deliberations by a number of Committees comprised of Council and Society members.

The Council:

  • Makes decisions about policies affecting the profession.
  • Makes representations or comments on policy or legislation to Government and other organisations.
  • Approves submissions or comments made on behalf of the Society.

The Council meets regularly to consider matters of policy.

There are 16 members of the Council which must include:-

  • Five Northern practitioners
  • Three North-Western practitioners
  • Eight Southern practitioners

Office bearers are: President, Vice President, Treasurer and members of the Executive Committee.

Council elections

Council members are elected by a vote of the entire regional membership and do not represent any particular category.

  • Elections for council are held each year in October.
  • Members are elected for a two-year term.
  • The Vice-President usually becomes President unless he or she does not wish to take up the position or the Council determines otherwise.

The President and the Vice President are elected after the annual general meeting. Elections for the Treasurer and other Executive members are held at a council meeting following the annual general meeting. These are all a one-year term commencing October.

 

2017/2018 Council Members

 

 

Will Justo
President*
Wallace, Wilkinson & Webster
4 Watchorn Street, Hobart 7000
Tel: (03) 6234 8022  Fax: (03) 6231 1765
wjusto@wwwlawyers.com.au
Biography
 web_evan_hughes Evan Hughes
Vice President*
Rae & Partners
Level 3, 113 Cimitiere Street,  Launceston 7250
Tel: (03) 6337 5555  Fax: (03) 6334 1693
evan.hughes@raepartners.com.au
  Crystal Garwood
Treasurer*
Doolan and Brothers
1st Floor, 31 Stewart Street, Devonport, 7310
Tel: (03) 6424 7588  Fax: (03) 6424 9201
cgarwoodlst@dandb.com.au
  Elizabeth Avery
Crown Counsel
Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions
15 Murray Street, Hobart 7000
Tel: (03) 6165 3600  Fax: (03) 6173 0263
elizabeth.avery@justice.tas.gov.au
web_Lauren_Bartlett Lauren Bartlett *
Rae & Partners
Level 3, 113 Cimitiere Street, Launceston 7000
Tel: (03) 6337 5555  Fax: (03) 6334 1693
lauren.bartlett@raepartners.com.au
Biography
Linda Connelly
Matthew Verney Lawyers
16 Rooke Street, Devonport 7310
Tel: (03) 6423 6669  Fax: (03) 6423 6007
connelly.verney@icloud.com
Rohan Foon*
Douglas & Collins
9-13 George Street, Launceston 7250
Tel: (03) 6332 3400 Fax: (03) 6332 3499
rohanf@douglascollins.com.au
 web_bill_griffiths William M Griffiths
Umbrella Chambers
60 George Street, Launceston 7250
Tel: (03) 6334 2922 Fax: (03) 6334 2819
umbrellachambers@gmail.com
Biography
Robert Hegarty
Douglas & Collins
9-13 George Street, Launceston 7250
Tel: (03) 6332 3400 Fax: (03) 6332 3499
roberth@douglascollins.com.au
 webcarey higgins Carey Higgins*
Glenorchy City Council
PO Box 103, Glenorchy 7010
Tel: (03) 6216 6751
carey.higgins10@gmail.com
Biography
Trevor McKenna*
Ogivlie Jennings
Level 4, 39 Murray Street, Hobart  7000
Tel: (03) 6235 0800  Fax: (03) 6235 0888
trevor.mckenna@ogilviejennings.com.au
Biography
 web_bruce_Paterson Bruce Paterson
Department of Health and Human Services
Ground Floor, 34 Davey Street,  Hobart  7000
Tel: (03) 6233 6044  Fax: (03)6233 4021
bruce.paterson@dhhs.tas.gov.au
Biography
  Kirsten Siejka
Australian Education Union
32 Patrick Street, Hobart, 7000
Tel: 0404 426 098
kirstens@aeutas.org.au
  Amanda Thompson
Simmons Wolfhagen
Level 4, 99 Bathurst Street, Hobart, 7000
Tel: (03) 6226 1200 Fax: (03) 6226 1292
amanda.thompson@simwolf.com.au
web_mathew_verney Matthew Verney*
Matthew Verney Lawyers
Level 1, 17 Rooke Street, Devonport 7310
Tel: (03) 6423 6669 Fax: (03) 6423 6007
reception.verney@me.com
Biography
 phillipa-willshire Phillipa Willshire
Phillipa Willshire
49 Davey Street, Hobart  7000
Tel: 0408 572 582
pwillshire6@bigpond.com

* Indicates membership of the Executive Committee