Southern Young Lawyers

The Young Lawyers Committee (Southern) (“YLC”) is a committee of the Law Society of Tasmania that promotes the interests of junior members of the Tasmanian legal profession. The YLC is comprised of young lawyers, classified as persons with less than 5 years practical experience or under the age of 35. Lawyers from local firms and government departments volunteer for the YLC, as well as representatives from the University of Tasmania’s Law School and the Tasmanian Legal Practice Course.

The YLC meets once a month to discuss issues relevant to young practitioners and soon to be admitted practitioners / graduates. The YLC liaises with the Law Society of Tasmania to develop initiatives that address these concerns.

Of particular interest to the YLC is the mental wellbeing of graduates and young practitioners, which has emerged as a critical concern in recent years. The YLC is committed to acknowledging and addressing this issue and does so by promoting awareness and arranging activities that encourage a positive work/life balance.

In addition to its policy framework, the YLC is also engaged in organising professional and social events for the wider profession. Such activities include Continuing Legal Education seminars, the annual Tasmanian Golden Gavel competition, bi-annual long lunches and end of year functions.

For more information or to become involved with the YLC, email or look for “Young Lawyers Committee (Southern)” on Facebook.

Co President Ali Sawyer Ogilvie Jennings
Co President Jake Farmer Butler McIntyre & Butler
Treasurer Edward Burrows-Cheng Dobson Mitchell & Allport
Secretary Scott Ashby Supreme Court of Tasmania
CPD Officer Alinta Robinson-Herbert Wallace Wilkinson & Webster
Communications and Social Media Lewis Ringwaldt Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions
Committee Members Kaela Williams Dobson Mitchell Allport
Nick Walker Tas Racing Pty Ltd
Emily Bill Department of Justice
Henry Jones Dobson Mitchell Allport
Inga Eskitas Murdoch Clarke
Jarryd Price Murdoch Clarke
Jenna Madden Wallace Wilkinson & Webster
Michael Flanagan Ogilvie Jennings
Tim Cannon Groom Kennedy
Thomas Slatyer Worrall Moss Martin Lawyers

 Upcoming Events

Young Lawyers Resources