Election Law Society President


The Council of the Law Society of Tasmania has today elected Rohan Foon as its President.  Rohan is a Director of the Launceston firm, Douglas and Collins

Rohan graduated from the University of Tasmania in 2004 with a combined degree in Economics & Law with first class honours in law.

In 2005 he completed a Graduate Certificate of Legal Practice and was admitted as a legal practitioner. Upon his admission he spent a year as Associate to the Honourable Justice Crawford of the Supreme Court of Tasmania.

Rohan has been a legal practitioner at Douglas and Collins in Launceston since August 2006 and became a principal of the firm in January 2013.

He practices in civil and criminal litigation. He has been a member of the Council of the Law society since 2010.

In addition to practice Rohan is currently;

  • Member of the Disciplinary Tribunal for the Tasmanian Legal Profession,
  • Member of the Board of the Tasmanian Law Reform Institute,
  • Member of the Solicitors Accounts Rules Committee,
  • Chairman of the Launceston Touch Football Association Tribunal,
  • Disciplinary Tribunal member for Touch Football Australia
  • Member of the Board of Encore Theatre Company
  • A Criminal Injuries Compensation Commissioner

He is also formerly a Deputy Chairman of the Tasmanian Racing Appeals board (2013-2015), a former member of the Northern Tasmania Football Association Tribunal (2006-2012) and a Board Member of the Time Out House.


Rohan Foon
0412 593 675


15 October 2016